The Churches of Nailsea Moor & the Gordano Valley, Saturday, 7th September 2024


Saturday, 7th September 2024

The Churches of Nailsea Moor & the Gordano Valley
Hosted by Philip G Skelhorn & Dr Robert Gilbert C


Church of St Quiricus and St Julietta, Tickenham – BS21 6SD
This church can be dated definitely to the late 11th century by its early Norman chancel archway, but the nave walls may well be of Saxon origin due to their height and narrowness. There is visible evidence of alteration, extension and restoration to this Grade 1 listed church which happened during the 13th, 14th, 15th and 19th centuries. There is a fine Jacobean Pulpit and curious timber roof bosses. Three 13th century effigies of members of the FitzNicholas family and fragments of 14th century glass are to be found here. Statues on the tower depict the martyrdom of three year old Quiricus and his mother.

Meet here at 1.00 for 1.30 pm start. Tea/coffee on arrival.


St Michael’s church, Clapton in Gordano: BS20 7RH

A description of the church in 1830 suggested that this church is ‘as remarkable for the beauty of its Architecture and its quiet, secluded, situation embower’d among trees and delightful scenery’. These words ring true today despite the roar of the traffic on the M5 motorway nearby. The 12th-century tympanum is the oldest visible part, with good carved stonework throughout. Dating predominantly from the 13th century and now Grade 1 listed, inside are reredos and benches, a 14th-century font and a late 17th-century monument. The 13th-century oak screen in the church originally divided the Great Hall and the Buttery in the adjacent Court House.

Meet here at 2.30 pm.


All Saints church, Wraxall: BS48 1LB
All Saints was built in the 12th century, with tower, clock and bells being added in later centuries. The church has been designated by English Heritage as a Grade 1 listed building. The large churchyard contains several monuments to the Tynte family which gave its name to the nearby Tyntesfield Estate. Parish registers survive from 1562, and include examples of the baptism of enslaved black people. The fine Chancel screen of oak was erected in 1893/94 during the restoration of this part of the church. An east window, altar and reredos were also created, with a new roof and choir stalls. The reredos is made of Bath stone and is unique among the churches of old Somerset. There are painted stone effigies in the Chancel of Sir Edmond Gorges and his first wife, Lady Anne Howard, great aunt of two Queens of England – Anne Boleyn and Catherine Howard – both wives of Henry VIII.

Meet here at 3.30 pm
Afternoon tea at 4.15 pm